HomeAmerican Studies Asiavol. 1 no. 1 (2002)

Representation and Rule in the Imperial Archipelago Cuba, Puerto Rico, Hawai’i, and the Philippines under US Dominion after 1898

Lanny Thompson

Discipline: History



In 1898, the United Stated began to build an imperial archipelago, constructed from the remnants of the Spanish empire and through the annexation of Hawai’i. From 1898 until the beginning of World War I in 1914, dozens of books describing these “new possessions” of the United States were published. Most of these books were illustrated with photographs and some were lavishly produced, multivolume works which included separate sections for Cuba, Puerto Rico, Hawai’i, and the Philippines. One of the first books to appear was Trumbull White’s Our New Possessions (1898); the last was William Boyce’s US Colonies and Dependencies (1914).